How It Came to Be (Part 3 of 7)

The Story of My Book and Why I Chose To Write It.

I was heading into my second semester of senior year at Marquette, and I was boarding a flight to Atlanta. I was on time, and I didn’t have to stall the plane for anyone else so life was good.

When I took a seat (in the economy class), to my surprise, I wasn’t the one who introduced myself to the people next to me. A woman enthusiastically extended her hand, and we started a conversation I still value today.

“So what do you do?” I asked her.

“I actually am an author, and I do some speaking.”

Boy, was that the understatement of the century! Looking her up later, I found that she had published 9 books, made regular t.v. appearances, and spoke all over the country. (She was also a top 10 finalist in Miss Black U.S.A. but that’s neither here nor there). Basically, this woman was a celebrity.

But this was a crazy coincidence, I also wanted to run for Miss Black U.S.A. Okay, bad joke, but really. I had just read two books that got me thinking about writing a book of my own, and I was already starting to speak to high school students about leadership; she could be a great resource.

Trying not to be too forward, I absolutely grilled her on what it took to write a book. She told me all about the formatting and the necessary outline I needed to establish. She also told me that I needed to start, and I needed to start now. I made a couple lame excuses, and she let me get away with them for a moment.

I tried to change the subject. “I’d love to read one of your books. Is there one you’d recommend?”

I’ll never forget this.

“Yes, there is.” She took out a bookmark and handed it to me.

The book was entitled, What’s Really Holding You Back?.

I got the message loud and clear.

I bought the book as soon as I got home and read it quickly. This was my turning point. I wasn’t going to make any more excuses. It was time for me to write my first book.

Looking back, I had no idea what I was getting myself into.

(To be continued tomorrow…)

Days Until WAKE UP CALL!

14438293-film-countdown-5

 
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

About kwillkom

Founder, keynote speaker, author at Action Packed Leadership. I'm on a mission to help young people become the best version of themselves.

Leave a Reply

