How It Came to Be (Part 6 of 7)

The Story of My Book and Why I Chose To Write It.

The rest of the process felt as though I had rolled a snowball down a mountain. I said in an earlier post that “I thought” writing would be the hard part. Turns out everything is the hard part when it comes to getting a book to an audience: writing, editing, designing, publishing, marketing; none of it could be overlooked, and it all seemed a little more difficult after I kicked my coffee addiction.

I had asked my friend, Steve Novak, a shooting guard for the New York Knicks, to write the foreword, which he agreed to, and everything he had to say was incredibly humbling.

I was excited and nervous. The time had come to order my first book.

I’ll never forget the day that I placed the order. Please refrain from judging me when I tell you this, but it was 8 pm in the FOCUS Training office, I was the only one there, and I had Tupac on full volume. The feeling was surreal. I had worked on my book for over a year, and it was about to be a legitimate, physical copy.

When I received the first one, I thought back to the reason I wrote the book. It was never to feel glorified or to put it on a list of accomplishments. It went back to that conversation in the first class cabin of an airplane; I wanted to have a positive impact on youth across the country. So believe it or not, I did not feel a great sense of accomplishment when I received the first copy of my book; it hadn’t impacted anyone yet.

I have always been a firm believer that the only way this book will reach students across the country is if people believe in the lessons within it and share it with everyone they know. No marketing strategy in the world can sell something that people don’t want or don’t believe in.

I’m two days away from releasing this book to my family, friends, and acquaintances, in hopes that they will pass it along to their family, friends, and acquaintances before the official release on May 6. I really think that together, we can get this book to every student in the country!

Days Until WAKE UP CALL!

images

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About kwillkom

Founder, keynote speaker, author at Action Packed Leadership. I'm on a mission to help young people become the best version of themselves.

Leave a Reply

