The Hardest Part of Ending is Starting Again

Why I’m leaving two great jobs, and how it applies to you

I feel like this post needed to be made. This is a personal post about the recent progressions in my life. I’m not making this post to selfishly say, “Hey everybody, look at me!” I’m making this post because I think there are themes in it that can resonate with anyone. I want to take you through what’s been happening for me in hopes that it can somehow help you.

So here I go.

I am leaving my full-time job. I’m stepping away from the consulting position I’ve held for the last three years, and I’m joining an entrepreneurial company in an industry in which I have little experience.

Sounds pretty dumb when I put it that way. So I’ve decided to take you through the thought process behind leaving…and starting again.


Leaving

As Chris Brown once said, “There’s never a right time to say goodbye.” I am leaving two positions, both of which I truly enjoy, and several people have been curious as to why. To really answer that question, I need you to watch this short video.

I love my work with my full-time employer, and I will continue to speak and run leadership programs for high school and college students with them. I love my consulting work and all of the organization’s values. In both of these scenarios, the people I’ve worked with have become great friends, the work I did was fast-paced, fulfilling, and fun, and I never wanted to take days off.

But…

There was a small piece of me that felt I belonged elsewhere.

I studied Marketing and Entrepreneurship in college, and I felt drawn to an entrepreneurial environment. I like the idea of building something from the ground up and being an active ingredient in the success or failure of the pursuit. I enjoy digital media, and I desired a position in that realm.

Was I unhappy? No. I was very happy, and I will maintain great relationships as I transition. But (if you watched the video above), that .0001 percent of me that felt I should be pursuing my passions started to outweigh any other conservative, practical thought.

Leaving is the first step to creating something new. I had to leave. It was the right time (which might contradict Chris Brown’s lyrics)…and it will be nice to bring my passion for speaking with me on a contracted basis.

Just to tie this in with my earlier promise of unselfishness: What do you need to leave? Are you being called elsewhere? Do your passions and your actions match up?

Just something to consider.


Starting

The band, Lincoln Park, has a lyric that says, “The hardest part of ending is starting again.” I am headed into the realm of digital marketing in an entrepreneurial capacity. I will be the fourth member of my new company, and we have a lot of aspirations as to what the company can be.

Will we reach these aspirations?

Well, I wouldn’t be joining this team if I didn’t believe in our ability to accomplish our goals. However, I also fully understand the risk involved in doing something like this. I recognize the learning curve that is present for me to do my job well and help our company grow. I am fully aware of the hard work and hustle that will be necessary to bring our dreams to reality.

But…

Quite often I’ve found myself thinking of all the ways something could go wrong, and then never starting it. There’s a common saying that goes, “If you want something you’ve never had, you must do something you’ve never done.” I’ve never done anything like this before. That makes me nervous. But to even have a chance at being the passionately entrepreneurial person I know that I am, I have to start.

There is no clear-cut starting line in life; you need to make your own. And there are a million quotes to support this:

“A journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step.”

“I can accept failure, I can’t accept not trying.”

When do these quotes come off of your Pinterest board and into your life? There’s nothing easy about it. There’s nothing safe about it. But if you have a starting line in mind, there’s no better day than today to begin the race.


There’s obviously a lot of uncertainty associated with a transition like the one I’m making. I didn’t write this to give the impression that I’m not nervous or didn’t put a lot of thought into my decisions. I wrote this to be transparent, and in hopes that this transparency might lead you to the starting lines that you’ve been dreaming about.


If you enjoyed this post, it would mean a lot to me if you hit the “recommend” button down below!

For more articles like this one, follow me on Twitter.

About kwillkom

Founder, keynote speaker, author at Action Packed Leadership. I'm on a mission to help young people become the best version of themselves.

Leave a Reply

